Jesus is for Losers track 4: I Don’t Know How to Love Him

Calamateur – I_Don’t_Know_How_to_Love_Him.mp3

Track 4 from my new album is a cover of I Don’t Know How to Love Him, taken from Jesus Christ Superstar and written by Andrew Lloyd Webber & Tim Rice.

Just to get something straight, I really don’t like musicals. Not that there’s anything wrong with them, they’re just not my cup of tea unless we’re talking about The Muppets’ Christmas Carol, which of course ranks among one of the best films ever made.

I heard this song mentioned by John Smith once, probably as far back as 1993. He obviously wasn’t a big fan of JCS either but he thought some outside inspiration, other than the obvious (cough) talents of Rice and Lloyd-Webber, must have brought this song into being as it brought so much humanity and honesty to the subject matter. I remembered what he had said when I was gathering together songs for my album and decided to see if I could do something with it. I’m hoping it sounds better than I suspect most people will expect it to….

Leave a comment